logo umr
Génétique Quantitative et Évolution - Le Moulon

ABI - SOFT group

Missions

ABI-Soft team aims to develop, deploy and provide analysis tools and databases useful for scientists of the lab. The team aims also to make them available to the plant science community through the French national forge for research and higher education (SourceSup) and efficient deployment solutions (virtual machines, containers).

ABI-Soft also provides a Galaxy environment to perform workflows developed in the lab. The team is in charge to deploy the tools on the server, design the workflow in Galaxy and if needed to develop new tools to embed the workflow. The team works in close collaboration with the ABI-SYS team to maintain the servers infrastructure hosting the tools of ABI-Soft team.

ABI-Soft is also in charge of the training of the scientists (local and their partners) to use the tools developed by ABI-SOFT.

Current projects

Currently, ABI-SOFT develops several data management and analysis tools that are components of a global information system dedicated to plant breeding.

ThaliaDB

In collaboration with GQMS team. ThaliaDB is a web application with its database that manages plant accessions, seeds lots, SNP markers, genotyping rawddata and field phenotyping elaborated data. This tool is useful for lab data management, for data curation, to prepare datasets for genome wide assocation studies or genomic selection analysis and for data sharing with partners and external data repositories (Dataverse).

ThaliaDB screen

ThaliaDB screen

The software development started in 2004, two versions were developped in JAVA langage. A new version (V3) in Python/Django framework/PostgreSQL/MongoDB started in 2015 for maize species and is now installed at QGE-Le Moulon. It is used to manage data produced by GQMS team and their partners in the frame of scientific projects, such as Amaizing at national, or at european projects (DROPS). Other instances will be deployed for other species and projects in the following months, in collaboration with external partners.

SHiNeMaS

SHiNeMaS screen

SHiNeMaS screen

In collaboration with DEAP team. SHiNeMaS (Seeds History Management and Network System) is a web application and its database (Python/Django/PostGreSQL) that manages relationships between seeds distributed in an network of farms and their field phenotypic evaluation results in several environments (climate, soil), (See figure left). The tool is used today for the management of data of several projects on bread wheat, in a context of participative science, agroecology and organic agriculture. Other instances on other species are in development in collaboration with external partners such as the members of the RSP (‘Réseau des Semences paysannes’), the collaboration with RSP started in 2003. SHiNeMaS is freely available, please visit the project page on SourceSup .

Biomercator

In collaboration with GQMS team.

Biomercator screen

Biomercator screen

Biomercator, an analysis tool (JAVA) useful for gene discovery involved in the variation of agronomical traits. It allows displaying genetic maps and genome annotation data (markers, QTLs). It provides tools for making meta-analysis of QTLS. The first version was published by A. Arcade, A. Labourdette, M. Falque, B. Mangin, F. Chardon, A. Charcosset, and J. Joets, in Bioinformatics 2004. The version 3 was published by O. Sosnowski, A. Charcosset, and J. Joets in Bioinformatics 2012.
BioMercator (V4) is freely available from the project page on SourceSup . The new version currently in development (V5) will provide tools to do GWAS meta-analysis.

Moulaxy

In collaboration with teams of GQE lab. Moulaxy, the local instance of Galaxy server, open to the lab, that gives access to specific softwares and workflows adapted to UMR user needs and expertise.

  1. installing tools and workflows according to user needs and their scientific projects
  2. to develop news tools focused to the scientific expertise of the lab (engineering of methods for example)
  3. to help to the valorization of those tools for example by promoting them in the Galaxy bioinformatics communities at national and international level (toolsheds deposits, training).

Please contact Yannick De Oliveira , for more details and partnership.

Previous staff

  • Alice Beaugrand (2016-2018), Master 2 University Paris-Saclay, then CDD (SHiNeMaS, ThaliaDB)
  • Artur Robieux (2018), Master 2 University Paris-Saclay (ThaliaDB)
  • Marine Daniel-Dit Andrieu (2017), Master 2 University Paris-Saclay (Phenofield-Validator)
  • Mélanie Polart-Donat (2017), Master 2 University Paris-Saclay (SHiNeMaS)
  • Eva Dechaux (2017), Master 2 University Paris-Saclay (SHiNeMaS)
  • Lan-Anh Nguyen (2016), DUT Université d’Auvergne, (ThaliaDB)
  • Olivier Akmansoy (2016), Ecoles des Mines Douai (ThaliaDB)
  • Aichatou Aboubacar-Amadou (2016), Master 2 Univ. Reims (SHiNeMaS)
  • Lydia Aït-Brahim (2014 – 2016), Master 2 Université Paris-Saclay, then CDD (Biomercator)
  • Guy Ross Assoumou (2012 – 2015), CDD IE/Software engineer (ThaliaDB)
  • Jocelyn Chêne (2015), Master 2 Univ. Nantes (ANR Bakery project)
  • Laura Burlot (2014), Master 2 Univ. Lyon, then CDD IE/ software engineer (SHiNeMaS)
  • Marie Lefebvre (2014), Master2 Univ. Nantes (SHiNeMaS)
  • Darkawi Madi (2012), Master 2 (SHiNeMaS)

logo umr
Génétique Quantitative et Évolution - Le Moulon

ABI - SOFT group

Missions

L’équipe ABI-Soft développe, déploie et distribue des outils d’analyses et des bases de données utiles aux scientifiques de l’UMR. L’équipe a également pour objectif de mettre à disposition ces outils à la communauté scientifique végétale à travers la forge de l’enseignement supérieur et de la recherche (SourceSup) et des solutions de déploiement efficaces (Machines virtuelles, conteneurs …).

ABI-Soft maintient également un environnement Galaxy afin d’exécuter les chaines de traitements des données (workflows) qui sont développées au sein de l’UMR. L’équipe est en charge de déployer les outils sur ses propres serveurs, concevoir les workflows dans Galaxy et si besoin développer les outils permettant d’articuler ces chaines de traitements. L’équipe travaille en étroite collaboration avec l’équipe ABI-SYS qui maintient l’infrastructure hébergeant les applications d’ABI-Soft.

Enfin, l’équipe est chargée de la formation des scientifiques (de l’UMR et leurs partenaires) sur les outils qu’elle développe.

Projets

Actuellement, ABI-Soft développe plusieurs outils de gestion des données et d'analyses qui sont les composants d'un système d'information global dédié à la sélection chez les plantes.

ThaliaDB

En collaboration avec l’équipe GQMS. ThaliaDB est une application web avec sa base de données qui gère des accessions de plantes, lots de graines, marqueurs SNPs, données brutes de génotypage, et des données de phénotypage élaborées. Cet outil est utile pour la gestion des données du laboratoire, leur expertise, pour la préparation de jeux de données utilisés pour des analyses en génétique d’association à l’échelle du génome (GWAS) ou en sélection génomique et pour le partage de données avec des collaborateurs ou des répertoires de données centralisés (Dataverse).

ThaliaDB screen

ThaliaDB screen

Le développement de l’outil a débuté en 2004, deux versions ont été développées en Java. La version 3 de l’outil a été réécrite en utilisant le langage Python avec le framework Django en 2015. Cette version est déployée sur les serveurs de l’UMR. Cette application est utilisée principalement par l’équipe GQMS et leurs partenaires notamment dans le cadre des projets Amaizing (PIA) et DROPS (projet européen). D’autres instances vont être déployées pour d’autres espèces et projets dans les mois qui viennent, en collaboration avec d’autres partenaires.

SHiNeMaS

SHiNeMaS screen

SHiNeMaS screen

En collaboration avec l’équipe DEAP. SHiNeMaS (Seeds History Management and Network System) est une application web avec sa base de données (Python/Django/PostGreSQL) qui permet de gérer les relations et la généalogie de lots de semence dans un réseau de fermes ainsi que les données d’évaluation au champ et environnementales (pratiques culturales, données climatiques etc.). Cet outil est aujourd’hui utilisé dans le cadre de plusieurs projets de science participative, en collaboration avec le Réseau Semences Paysannes (RSP) depuis 2003, en agriculture biologique et agro-écologique sur le blé tendre. D’autres collaborations avec le RSP ont lieu pour développer l’outil sur de nombreuses espèces. SHiNeMaS est disponible librement sur la page projet de la plateforme SourceSup.

Biomercator

En collaboration avec l’équipe GQMS.

Biomercator screen

Biomercator screen

BioMercator est un outil d’analyse (Java) permettant d’explorer des régions candidates impliquées dans les variations de caractères d’intérêt agronomique. Le logiciel permet de visualiser des cartes génétiques et le génome annoté (gènes, marqueurs, QTLs …). La première version a été publiée par A. Arcade, A. Labourdette, M. Falque, B. Mangin, F. Chardon, A. Charcosset, et J. Joets, dans Bioinformatics en 2004 et la version 3 par O. Sosnowski, A. Charcosset, et J. Joets dans Bioinformatics en 2012.
BioMercator version 4 est disponible depuis la page projet hébergée sur la plateforme SourceSup. La version 5 est encours de développement et permettra d’exploiter des résultats issus de GWAS.

Moulaxy

En collaboration avec les équipes de GQE-Le Moulon. Moulaxy est une instance locale de Galaxy, utilisée dans le laboratoire, qui donne un accès aux workflow et logiciels adaptés aux besoins du laboratoire. Dans ce projet ABI-Soft : 1- Installe les outils et déploie les workflows répondant aux besoins des projets scientifiques du laboratoire 2- Développe de nouveaux outils et méthodes en lien avec ces projets scientifiques 3- Contribue à la valorisation de ces workflows par une mise à disposition à la communauté Galaxy (toolshed, formations)

Merci de contacter Yannick De Oliveira , pour plus de détails et collaboration.

Anciens membres

  • Alice Beaugrand (2016-2018), Master 2 University Paris-Saclay, then CDD (SHiNeMaS, ThaliaDB)
  • Artur Robieux (2018), Master 2 University Paris-Saclay (ThaliaDB)
  • Marine Daniel-Dit Andrieu (2017), Master 2 University Paris-Saclay (Phenofield-Validator)
  • Mélanie Polart-Donat (2017), Master 2 University Paris-Saclay (SHiNeMaS)
  • Eva Dechaux (2017), Master 2 University Paris-Saclay (SHiNeMaS)
  • Lan-Anh Nguyen (2016), DUT Université d’Auvergne, (ThaliaDB)
  • Olivier Akmansoy (2016), Ecoles des Mines Douai (ThaliaDB)
  • Aichatou Aboubacar-Amadou (2016), Master 2 Univ. Reims (SHiNeMaS)
  • Lydia Aït-Brahim (2014 – 2016), Master 2 Université Paris-Saclay, then CDD (Biomercator)
  • Guy Ross Assoumou (2012 – 2015), CDD IE/Software engineer (ThaliaDB)
  • Jocelyn Chêne (2015), Master 2 Univ. Nantes (ANR Bakery project)
  • Laura Burlot (2014), Master 2 Univ. Lyon, then CDD IE/ software engineer (SHiNeMaS)
  • Marie Lefebvre (2014), Master2 Univ. Nantes (SHiNeMaS)
  • Darkawi Madi (2012), Master 2 (SHiNeMaS)